MIVA Calder Road Hill Climb 140910

Thursday, September 11, 2014 8:18 PM (GMT-7) - Final results

Race info
Sport: Cycling - road
Location: Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Start type: Interval start
Racers: 15
Timed on: iPad
Timed with: Webscorer PRO 1.6
Updated: Monday, September 29, 2014 11:41 AM (GMT-7)
Organized by: MIVA
Race website: bikeracing.ca
Race notes
Calder Road, 187metres elevation in 550 metres - that was the hill that faced the 14 starters in MIVA's second hill climbing the Fall series. It's a really tough ascent, with the sting inthe final 200 metres and it reduced 3 of the participants to walking/running up the 26% part of the hill.
Nick Kupiak and Steed Cycles' Justin Mark had a number of epic battles in last year's hill climb series, with Justin Edging Nick on several occasions but this time, it was Nick winning the men's category by over 5 seconds. Sean De Pol was third, just under half a minute behind and Mike McCarney posted 3' 18.7", a further 6 seconds back. Bruce Perry, owner of MIVA sponsor, Island Cycle, came in 5th., only a further 20 " behind the much younger Mike.
In the women's category, Lorrie Baildham won comfortably in a time which put her in 8th.Place overall but runner up Jennifer Gordon beat her last year's time by a significant margin.
The lone female youth, Abigail Hare, had a lot of difficulty scaling the Calder Col but brother Aiden improved on his 2013 time by a heap and was a worthy runner-up to category winner Tayden De Pol who surprised everyone with his just-over-four-minute performance, which put him in 9th.overall.
Thanks to timekeepers Jason Hare and Peter McCaffery, the latter riding out to the event and to the top of Calder (by an easier, longer route).
Next week is the 3 km drag up Kilpatrick and Benson View.
Show more Show less

Contact organizer

Use this form to send an email to the organizer.

Your name
Your email address
Confirm email address
Message to organizer

  • Race winners

  • right arrow imageClick on a green category name to see full results
 Category Winner Winning time Total racers
 Overall Nick Kupiak 2:38.5 15
 Men Nick Kupiak 2:38.5 10
 Women Lorrie Baildham 3:52.3 2
 Youth Female Abigail Hare 9:38.9 1
 Youth Male Tayden De Pol 4:09.7 2