MIVA 15k TT #14 7.17.2014

Thursday, July 17, 2014 7:00 PM (GMT-7) - Final results

Race info
Sport: Cycling - road
Location: Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Start type: Interval start
Racers: 27
Timed on: Notepad
Timed with: By hand
Updated: Friday, July 25, 2014 8:13 AM (GMT-7)
Organized by: MIVA
Race website: bikeracing.ca
Race notes
It was a perfect night for a TT with just a breeze and not too hot like the past few weeks. A huge turnout once again with 27 cyclists out for the 15k TT. Just how good were the conditions? An unbelievable EIGHTEEN racers put down seasons best times tonight. That's a testament to not only good weather, but seeing the results from everyone's hard work.

In the Youth Female Category Meghan Gillmore edged out Abigail Hare, breaking the 30 minute barrier for the first time this season! The Youth Male contest has been a battle between two of MIVAs most dedicated members, Ian Gillmore and Aiden Hare. Ian narrowly beat Aiden by only 17 seconds riding to a 32:30.

The Female Category saw Lorrie Baildham pulling off her first sub 25 minute 15kTT of the season to take top points. Anita Gillmore knocked 1:36 off her previous best, as did Kaitlynn Gordon, while Jenn Gordon set her 2nd best time of the season.

In the Male Category Don Gillmore set a seasons best time of just 20:13, averaging 44.5km/hr! Patrick Burnham continued his assault on his PBs by dropping his 15k all time best down to 22:44. Orphee Bernard took 3rd breaking the 23 minute barrier with a 22:50 a few days after being on the podium at the Cowichan Challenge Triathlon. With so many seasons best times tonight there are too many to list, but special kudos to Jason Hare for knocking almost a minute off his time and getting down in to the 23's! Simon Weber also knocked 90 seconds off his best, with Lee Zavarise making a strong improvement in just his 2nd TT this year dropping a minute off his time.

Next week is a 20k TT, hope to see you all there again.

Longtime TT timekeeper Peter McCaffery couldn't make tonights race, leaving big shoes to fill. Club members rallied to help get things set up, special thanks to John Hannon for registration and turnaround marshall duties, and to Colleen Wtorek for debuting as a timekeeper and keeping the cyclists OCD in check with accurate results, thank
Show more Show less

Contact organizer

Use this form to send an email to the organizer.

Your name
Your email address
Confirm email address
Message to organizer

  • Race winners

  • right arrow imageClick on a green category name to see full results
 Category Winner Winning time Total racers
 Overall Don Gillmore 20:13 27
 Female Lorrie Baildham 24:53 4
 Male Don Gillmore 20:13 19
 Youth Female Meghan Gillmore 29:44 2
 Youth Male Ian Gillmore 32:30 2